Today is a Tuesday, and everyone likes Jelli

· Review
Authors

With each new project I decide to undertake, I realize how few hours I have in a single day. I have full faith that humanity will come to solve my dillemma, but until then, I will just have to rely on my ability to tape stuff together poorly, like a ball of paperclips.

So that I don’t make my first post into a “Hello World” ranting piece of trash, I have every intention on reviewing something to make this as educational as possible.

I had considered tackling our nation’s ever increasing prescription drug problem, or maybe identifying the failings of local law enforcement, but I feel there is a bigger issue at hand…

I am referring to radio and radio advertisement.

 

Now, for those who keep up with the WSJ, you may remember an article written about a Bob Pittman (founder of MTV), and his quest to bring radio back in a big way. The article mentions that “digital commands just 4% of radio advertising but it is fast growing”.  And for good reason, internet stations have a lot to offer.  One of my favorite internet radio stations is Jelli Radio, it is an internet radio station that also gets broadcasting in a variety of cities over the airwaves.

 

Founded by Jateen Parekh and  Mike Dougherty, Jelli radio just secured $9million in funds to better the internet radio station.  The radio station offers users the opportunity to vote up and down songs, essentially creating their own playlist. It also lets it’s listeners vote on the song currently playing, and if a song is not up to par, it will actually get pulled off the air. By combining chat rooms with a social networking feel, Jelli Radio is a great way to get exposed to a variety of new music. Additionally, the application of smart phone apps have made it easier than ever for anyone to vote up a song.  I certainly suggest it to anyone looking for a creative ways to reach an audience, as they are actively offering great spots in their advertising, going so far as to allow their listeners to vote on ads. Now that is innovative, try emulating that, Clear Channel.

 

WSJ Article Here

Jell Radio Here

 

2 Comments

Comments RSS
  1. John Michael Sheehan

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    • davemanic

      Thanks! I am a big fan of communications and how the media decides their vote 🙂

Leave a Reply

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Chowderhead

Grab a Cup. Five Bucks at the Door.

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Stories

Rick Mallery

lizbethwrightbooks

Author/Poet

